You are here

Political Bias At The ABC

Political bias at be ABC? Here is a list of all ABC board members appointed since 1996.

Howard government appointments:

Donald McDonald - Liberal Party member and long-time friend of the Howard Family.

Michael Kroger - Liberal party powerbroker and former president of the Victorian Liberal party. Member of the right-wing think tank the Institute of Public Affairs ("Ding!")

Judith Sloan - Right-wing labour market economist, News Ltd Columnist and outspoken critic of the ABC. Associated with right-wing think tanks the Centre for Independent Studies, the HR Nichols Society and the IPA ("Ding, Ding!")

Ross McLean - Former Liberal party MP for Perth.

Leith Boully - Member of the Murray-Darling CAC with close ties to the Liberal party. Former member of the NT Young Country Liberal Party.

Maurice Newman - Close friend and confidant of John Howard and founder of the Centre for Independent Studies, a right-wing think tank identical to the IPA ("Ding, Ding, Ding!")

Janet Albrechtson - Right-wing columnist for News Ltd. Associated with the CIS and IPA ("Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding!")

Ron Brunton - Former right-wing columnist for News Ltd. Climate change skeptic, critic of the stolen generations report and Director of Indigenous Affairs at the IPA ("Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding!")

Steven Skala - Former director of the CIS ("Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding!")

Keith Windschuttle - Right-wing historian. Outspoken critic of the ABC and regular keynote speaker for the CIS and IPA ("Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding!")

Peter Hurley: President of the SA Hotels Association and major donor to the Liberal party and right-wing think tanks...oh bugger it ("Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding!")

Jonathan Shier: Guess who called for this guy's appointment. ("Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding, Ding!")

Mark Scott: Former staffer to NSW Liberal minister Terry Metherell.

Rudd/Gillard appointments

James Spigelman - No known political affiliation.

Julianne Schultz - No known political affiliation.

Cheryl Bart - No known political affiliation.

Fiona Stanley - No known political affiliation.

Jane Bennett - No known political affiliation.

Five ABC board appointments fall vacant in the current governments term.

Commenting on this Blog entry will be automatically closed on April 4, 2014.